JellyPages.com

Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Trend Spotting

Upcoming 2014 Trends


Looks like 2014 may have a bit of the steampunk style to it's look.
 More to come as the trend spotting continues.....

Tuesday, November 19, 2013

New Looks and a New Name

Please bare with me as I am changing my blog. It is getting a whole new look and even a new name.
I have been told over the past year that people did not get the Title of my blog Just Jist. So I went with what people have been calling me for ages. Hippie Mama! But I spelled it Hippy cause I'm Hippy in the hips too..lol. I will be providing a lot of new content as well. Recipes and craft ideas and much more.


This just makes my heart hurt





Two parents in Washington state have been found guilty of murder after following the abusive parenting techniques advocated in the parenting book "To Train Up a Child" by Michael and Debi Pearl.
And this is not the first case.
The Schatzes: murdered 7 year old daughter Lydia during dicipline session.

The Paddocks: Murdered their 4 year old son, Sean

 Please help stop this book from being sold so that ignorant parents will not have this guideline to help them abuse, torture, and kill their children.
This book is written by sick people that need help themselves, and should not be advising parents on discipline. Please help by signing the petition below.

Sign The Petition 


Some of the discipline techniques the Pearls teach include:
  • Using plastic tubing to beat children, since it hurts a lot but leaves fewer marks to alert authorities
  • Wearing the plastic tubing around the parent's neck as a constant reminder to obey
  • "Swatting" babies as young as six months old with instruments such as "a 12-inch willowy branch," thinner plastic tubing or a wooden spoon
  • "Blanket training" babies by hitting them with an instrument if they try to crawl off a blanket on the floor
  • Beating older children with rulers, paddles, belts and larger tree branches
  • "Training" children with pain before they even disobey, in order to teach total obedience
  • Giving cold water baths, putting children outside in cold weather and withholding meals as discipline
  • Hosing off children who have potty training accidents
  • Inflicting punishment until a child is "without breath to complain."
Michael Pearl tells one mother on his website, "I could break his anger in two days. He would be too scared to get angry. On the third day he would draw into a quiet shell and obey."


Sunday, November 17, 2013

New Start

 I hope this post does not sound like whining I just need to get my thoughts out there.
This past summer was very rough for me. Moving to a new place and being very sick at the same time took it's toll, money wise and emotionally.I fell behind in my business and everything fell apart. I could no longer do what needed to be done to keep it going. I am still praying on a miracle to find the money somewhere to start seeing my doctors again and get the surgery I need. I had to close down my business and now I do not have that income any more either. So I am starting over. I am starting small. Just a few little things I can do from bed when I cant get up. I am trying to blog more, I missed it very much. I am also reopening my shop and am going to try doing it at ETSY this time. so fingers crossed it works. 
I will also be revamping my blog soon. I fell like giving it a new look will do some good. Any and all suggestions on anything I should do to my blog to make it more interesting is much appreciated.  Also if you want to suggest items I should carry in my shop feel free to do so. I need to find a way to work through the pain and improve my situation. I only have the first item up in my shop right now but more will be coming soon so check it out and give me any feedback you like.


MY ETSY SHOP 


Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Holiday Recipie "Sweet Potato Pie"

Being from the south sweet potato pie is a holiday staple, and something I believe everyone should try at least once in their life. It is similar in many ways to pumpkin pie. Sweet potato pie appears in the southern United States from the early colonial days. One of the first recorded recipes is from George Washington Carver.
George Washington CarveG
A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf
A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf
A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf
A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf

A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf
A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf
A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf
A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf
A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf
A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf
A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf
A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf
A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf
A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf
A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf
A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf
A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf
A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf
A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf
A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf
A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf
A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf
A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf
A form of this dessert traces back to the Renaissance Era in terms of mixing spices with sweet potatoes. - See more at: http://sdoeden.areavoices.com/2010/02/25/sweet-potato-pie-has-deep-roots/#sthash.qW47gAol.dpuf




Ingredients

2 cups peeled, cooked sweet potatoes
1 1/4 cups sugar
1/2 stick melted butter
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract or 1 to 2 tablespoons bourbon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1 cup milk
9-inch unbaked pie crust
3 egg whites

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

For the filling, combine the potatoes, 1 cup of the sugar, the butter, eggs, vanilla, salt, and spices. Mix thoroughly. Add the milk and continue to mix. Pour the filling into the pie crust and bake for 35 to 45 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean. Place the pie on a rack and cool to room temperature before covering with meringue.

For the meringue, using an electric mixer, beat the egg whites until soft peaks form; beat in the remaining 1/4 cup sugar 1 tablespoon at a time. Continue beating until the sugar dissolves and the mixture is glossy and stiff, but not dry. With a rubber spatula, spoon the meringue onto the pie, forming peaks. Make sure the meringue touches the crust all around. Sprinkle with a pinch of granulated sugar. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes, or until delicately browned. Cool and serve.

Mama Voxbox review


Influenster’s Mama VoxBox Review

I am a member on a website called Influenster and I was picked to receive a “Mama VoxBox” with several products to try and write a review.

My box came with:
  • Belvita Soft Baked Biscuits (Oats & Chocolate flavor)

  • Dr. Scholl’s For Her Comfort Insoles

  • Pond’s Luminous Finish BB+ Cream

  • Annie’s Microwaveable Mac and Cheese Cup (White Cheddar Flavor)

Today I will be doing a review on the Belvita biscuits and the Ponds BB cream






Belvita Soft Baked Biscuits
In my opinion these are soft and chewy very tasty.  One “cookie” is 200 calories, 7 grams of fat and 5 grams of fiber.  It is a great on the go  breakfast or snack.








Pond’s Luminous Finish BB+ Cream
I don’t wear makeup ofter, I don't like the feel of liquid makeup. In my opinion most liquid makeup feels like a mask. I had never used BB cream before and I love it! It combines moisturizer, sunscreen, concealer, foundation and powder into just ONE STEP and it is super light! No heavy feel no feeling like I am putting on a mask, it is a truly not there feeling. Also the coverage is great and blends with skin very well also looks great once on.

Thursday, November 7, 2013

Redbubble

Have you heard of Redbubble. I just love this site!
Redbubble is a creative community and marketplace with artists and designers hailing from every corner of the globe, displaying eye opening talent, skill, passion and enthusiasm for all forms of creativity there really is no better place for you to get your artistic kicks.
If you’re looking for unique and impossibly brilliant t-shirts, heart-stopping wall art, attention grabbing iPhone cases or any other beautifully designed products they are here to present an alternative to the mass producing hordes rudely hawking your individuality back to you on the main street.
For the creatives among you they have a marketplace. You can sell your work with zero hassle on a healthy range of incredibly high quality products. You’ll find a playground of like minded humans displaying work, admiring work and discussing work.

I have some of my own work there. take a look at my latest poster.
http://www.redbubble.com/people/wildivy/works/11068525-coffee-and-wine 

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Book Reviews Life after Life and Allegiant

I am an avid reader always looking for that great book that make me feel that I just leaves me breathless. Sometime when you get a really great book you find it hard to believe that real life exist still after you finish the book and start to sober up from your reading bender. However the last two books I read are not those kind of books. I feel almost betrayed by the reviews I read prior top reading these novels. So I am going against the masses and telling you my personal opinion of them.


Life After Life 


(synopsis)
On a cold and snowy night in 1910, Ursula Todd is born, the third child of a wealthy English banker and his wife. Sadly, she dies before she can draw her first breath. On that same cold and snowy night, Ursula Todd is born, lets out a lusty wail, and embarks upon a life that will be, to say the least, unusual. For as she grows, she also dies, repeatedly, in any number of ways. Clearly history (and Kate Atkinson) have plans for her: In Ursula rests nothing less than the fate of civilization.
 

I have read hundreds of books and none have left such a feeling of unresolved plot as this one. I know I am going against the masses, but good writing does not always equate a good story. This book had the potential to be a great book but was executed poorly. There was no explanation as to why she keep being reborn, it is like,as many have said, Groundhogs day without the resolution. All in all it ended up being a hard read, much too long, overly redundant with an ending that seemed more like the end of a chapter than the end of a book.  I would give this book 2 stars for good writing but horrible storytelling. Just telling it like it is.

Allegiant


(synopsis)
 What if your whole world was a lie?
What if a single revelation—like a single choice—changed everything?
What if love and loyalty made you do things you never expected?


The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

 
I am sad about the ending but that is not the only disappointment in this book I absolutely loved the first two books but this one was just a letdown from start to finish. It is slow and painful and I feel depressed for having read it.For one thing is the main character had to die for the purpose of making a better story or solving a conflict or anything that actually made sense then fine, go for it. However by having her die the way she did actually made the book so much worse, it did not make anything about the story better and was just pointless. Thanks so much Ms.Roth for raising our hopes up with two good books and bombing on the last. This book makes me wish I had never started the series to begin with.  

Want a GOOD read?
try

Splintered by